Dementia: Serving the Disease Process from Beginning to End

presented by Jane Yakel

Accreditation Check:

Sooner or later, it will touch us all: our patients, family members, or someone else close to us is diagnosed with dementia. It is more important than ever to know how the diseases of dementia unfold. Knowing the Stages of Dementia are extraordinarily informative; it is like having a road map to know WHAT to do WHEN for our patient, family, friends. Serving the patient throughout the disease process has become a reality and an ethical responsibility. The focus of this course identifies the origins of dementia; completes a differential diagnosis of degenerative diseases; and outlines the cognitive and behavioral symptoms of the Seven Clinical Stages of Dementia. Developmental “mental” ages are discussed with each clinical stage, followed with specific guidelines of what a patient CAN and CAN NOT do during the disease process. Discipline-specific interventions are discussed at each clinical stage with documented samples for medical necessity and justification.

Meet Your Instructor

  • Jane Yakel, MS, CCC-SLP

    Jane Yakel, M.S. CCC-SLP is a licensed and certified Speech-Language Pathologist currently employed as private contractor and consultant. She has worked in a variety of settings which include: acute care, outpatient clinics, home health agencies, skilled nursing facilities, independent living facilities, hospitals, and school districts. She has been a regional and national clinical specialist or therapist, and a trainer for program directors throughout the United States. She taught Medicare Regulations and Guidelines and has defended Medicare denial claims at the Administrative Law Judge Lever for Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Speech-Language Pathologist with 100% turnover. She has served as CEO of a Community RE-Entry Center for Traumatic Brain Injury survivors in Scottsdale AZ, and has been a professor and clinical instructor at four universities: University of Wyoming, Utah State University, DeVry University-Phoenix, and DeVry University-Fremont California. Her diverse background in the academic, administration, and healthcare arenas has given her strong clinical skills in patient assessment, evaluation, treatment, and patient/family education. She has also shared her expertise as an author and presenter for national and state board continuing educational courses on various topics including the Prospective Payment System, Ethics and Professionalism, Dysphagia Management, Customer Service, Comprehensive Assessment of the Patient and Cognitive Communication Disorders. She is the author of four comprehensive therapy books addressing dementia, cognition, dysphagia, and assessment. She is a member of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, is a past representative for the People to People Ambassador Program for the American Speech and Hearing Association in South Africa, and is a prior member of the Wyoming Board of Examiners for Speech-Language and Audiology. Ms. Yakel completed her undergraduate and graduate studies at the University of Wyoming, specializing in neuropathology.

    Read full bio

Chapters & Learning Objectives

Download Learning Objectives
  1. Dementia: Reversible or Irreversible?

    1. Dementia: Reversible or Irreversible?

    This chapter will discuss open-ended discipline questions addressing the WHEN and the HOW to serve dementia, identify dementia, reversible and irreversible dementia, contributing factors to dementia and cognitive decline, and differential diagnosis of degenerative diseases.

  2. Assessment: Paradigm Shift of Service Delivery and Justifying Medical Necessity

    2. Assessment: Paradigm Shift of Service Delivery and Justifying Medical Necessity

    This chapter will discuss assessment or staging, patient-centered assessment, patient-centered goal development, justification of medical necessity, value / validity of dementia staging tools, specific staging tools, and paradigm shift of service delivery.

  3. Seven Clinical Stages of Dementia

    3. Seven Clinical Stages of Dementia

    This chapter will describe the seven clinical stages of Dementia. For each stage, it will outline cognitive and behavioral symptoms, developmental mental ages, cognitive assist levels, mean duration, and discipline-specific treatment interventions.